NOUN VC, Buratai, 22 others receive SPSP fellowship at Int’l confab

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof Abdalla Uba Adamu was one of the 24 distinguished Nigerians who received the fellowship award of the Society for Peace Studies and Practice (SPSP) to recognise their distinct hallmarks in promoting a peaceful Nigeria.

Other awardees include the Chief of Army Staff, Lt. Gen. Tukur Buratai, Ambassador Fatima Sa’ad Abubakar, University of Maiduguri Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ibrahim Abubakar Njodi, Rev. Fr. Innocent Tyomlia Jooji, Prof. Rufa’I Ahmed Alkali, Ambassador Paddy Njoku, among others.

The conferment of the fellowship formed part of the SPSP’s 12th International Conference and Annual General Meeting, held at the headquarters of NOUN in Jabi Abuja.

The 3-day conference, which drew participants from 13 partners in the Nigerian academia as well as relevant local and international agencies, brainstormed on addressing the myriads of security challenges bedevilling the country.

Chairman of the SPSP Board of Trustee and former TEFUND executive secretary, Prof. Suleiman Bogoro, said the awardees were chosen based on their individual efforts in the area of building peace, stressing that the process of their selection had passed through a serious litmus test from the committee.

With the theme: Violent Conflicts and the Challenges of Peace-Building in Contemporary Nigeria, the conference, later split to different sessions, where resource persons presented papers in sundry topics regarding peace in Nigeria.